Home > Reading > Two potential filing errors

Two potential filing errors

I’ve recently (okay, longer than recently) wondered whether my interest in combinatorial number theory is actually an interest in combinatorics, filtered by a somewhat stubborn background in number theory. To put it differently, growing up I studied a large quantity of number theory and very little combinatorics, and now I find myself quite interested in both. The fact that combinatorics hooked me with a lot less exposure might mean that that’s what I should really be doing…

Anyway, with this in mind, I’ve been making a point to scan the titles regularly on math.CO, which feels like wandering through an unfamiliar neighborhood within your city. I find a lot of the abstracts intriguing, though my repertoire of theorems and terminology is a bit lacking. Notably, however, my most recent pass turned up this paper on sum-product estimates. How in the world is this not cross-listed on math.NT?

Categories: Reading
  1. June 8, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    People are bad at self-categorizing, and researchers are in general cliquish by area, at least in my experience. So it’s a combination of neglect and indifference…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

