Home > Conferences > CANT 2011 Preview

CANT 2011 Preview

Guilford held their commencement on May 7, and since then I’ve spent most of my time in Providence. Despite being on vacation, I did a decent job on the reading front, though less so on the blogging front (and my laptop’s AC adapter dying hasn’t helped matters). I’m back in Greensboro now, and I do intend to write something about some papers I’ve recently looked at, hopefully going up by tomorrow.

Three years ago, I attended and presented at the Combinatorial and Additive Number Theory Workshops at CUNY, and I found the meetings very interesting and enjoyable. Since then, I haven’t managed to attend due to scheduling conflicts. The same is partially true this year, since I’m teaching statistics twice a week this summer, but Steven J. Miller convinced me that half a conference is better than no conference at all, so I’ll be attending two-minus-epsilon of the four days of this year’s event, next Thursday and Friday. (The value of epsilon depends on the efficiency of US Airways and New York City taxis on Thursday morning.)

Unfortunately, three of the talks are split into four parts over the course of four days, so I expect to be a bit disoriented during those sessions, having missed the lead-ins. Still, I’m hopeful that I’ll be able to observe and talk about some good mathematics, and I intend to report on some/all of the proceedings here. (In the very unlikely event that you’re reading this and will be there, be sure to say hi!)

Categories: Conferences
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment